Guacamole Heaven is at Ole Mexican Grill

untitled-9First let me say that I am not a “foodie” but the opportunity came up to try a new restaurant so I figured what do I have to lose? Boy am I glad I went because the food served at Ole Mexican Grill was the best thing to ever happen to my mouth. I am not just saying that either, it was absolutely scrumptious. Its so good I ate the left over guacamole for breakfast. True Story.

Ole Mexican Grill is located in Cambridge. Its a smaller size restaurant but with HUGE flavor. The lighting is low and the scenery calming.

The first thing you are served is award winning guacamole served with corn chops and Ole salsa fresca. You are not just served any guacamole you are served freshly made guacamole that is made in front of you in a volcanic rock. I have never been a very big guacamole fan but oh sweet heavens this guacamole was better than ice cream. I could have just eaten the guacamole all night and had been satisfied.

After enjoying scoop after scoop of guacamole my server took out several taco dishes. Each taco dish was beautiful, colorful and vibrant. All the tacos were absolutely delicious but holy moly the best thing that ever happened to my mouth was their pork belly taco.

The Pork Belly Taco is filled with braised pork belly that is braised for six hours then fried in olive oil topped with blackened scallion and cilantro-garlic aioli, picked jicama slaw and red jalapenos peppers on a grilled flour tortilla.  Their tortillas by the way are hand made right at the restaurant in the dining room where you can watch the magic happen.

How do I explain the deliciousness of this dish other than it was better than candy.  The pork was sweet and tender.  All the flavors were like a symphony for my mouth. Just looking at the picture below makes me want to drive back and get another one. I’m drop dead serious.

untitled-14

The Ole’ menu is filled with authentic Mexican food from many regions. Whenever possible Ole’ supports local artisanal farmers who raise sustainable produce, beef, pork chicken and seafood.

Erwin Ramos, the owner, told me you would not find a can anywhere!

Ole’ has a smaller sister restuarant called Olecito. Olecito has two locations. One is directly across the street from Ole in Cambridge, Brookline and the other a very newly opened store in New Bedford.

Their menu for both Ole and Olecito is available online here.

 

Leave a comment